In light of the SADC Payment Systems Integration Project, the Committee of Central Bank Governors (CCBG) created and implemented the SADC - Real Time Gross Settlement System (SADC-RTGS), and Transactions Cleared on an Immediate Basis (TCIB), for settling large and retail transactions, respectively.


Launched in 2013 and operated by the Central Bank of South Africa, comprising SADC central banks and financial institutions, if so authorized by their respective central banks. It has 82 participants, namely, 74 commercial banks and 8 central banks. Mozambique joined the system in October 2016.


It allows interoperability between banking and non-banking entities, in providing financial services, and comprises retail payment service providers, banking or non-banking entities, provided that they are licensed by the respective central banks or competent authorities, and comply with the established requirements.


The main international payment systems operating in the country are:

  • VISA International;
  • MasterCard, and
  • American Express.

Most of the payment terminals installed in the country accept cards of these brands.